Select Page

justfunsermonmount (Sermon on mount ** )

The Sermon on the Mount — 5 ways to interpret the greatest of all sermons

The sermon on the Mount can be interpreted on 5 levels:

  • Practical
  • Moral
  • Metaphorical
  • Promises & Commandments
  • Covenants & Temples


Also, John W. Welch has suggested that there are five faces or facets of the Sermon on the Mount, each with its own depth and significance:

  1. The facet of clear, verbal expression of instruction
  2. Moral persuasion
  3. The face of Enlightenment, the “aha” moment, which includes the use of metaphors, similes, symbols, and allegories.
  4. The face of Authority, direct promises with sure consequences.  The Beatitudes are promises for obedient behavior, not just good moral suggestions.
  5. The face of Temple ordinances and covenants, ritual and ceremony.

A great quote concerning the Parable of the Ten Virgins.  Elder Bruce R. McConkie said, “… all disciples of Christ must fill their own lamps with oil ‘purchased at the market place of OBEDIENCE’ “.

Click here to return to the Scriptures index
Click here to return to the Main Menu page