Select Page

astronomyplanets ( ** )

Astronomy — Two types of planets

Two types of planets

  • Perhaps the most important clue we have to the origin of the solar system is the division of the planets into two categories:  terrestrial (Earth-like) and Jovian (Jupiter-like).
  • The terrestrial planets are small, dense, rocky worlds with less atmosphere than the Jovian planets.
  • The terrestrial planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, and they lie in the inner solar system.
  • The Jovian planets are large, gaseous, low-density planets.  The Jovian planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) lie in the outer solar system.

Click here to return to the Astronomy index page